Showing posts with label eclipse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label eclipse. Show all posts

Friday, May 17, 2013

Android Studio

On Google IO 2013, Google introduced Android Studio, based on IntelliJ IDEA, a new tool for Android developers. I liked it. Since it was a preview version, Google noted:
Caution: Android Studio is currently available as an early access preview. Several features are either incomplete or not yet implemented and you may encounter bugs. If you are not comfortable using an unfinished product, you may want to instead download (or continue to use) the ADT Bundle (Eclipse with the ADT Plugin).
As soon it posted on developer.android.com, I downloaded and installed on three platforms: Ubuntu 13.04, Mac OS/X Lion 10.7.5 and Windows Vista. On Ubuntu 13.04 with OpenJDK 1.7, I got this error message:
'tool.jar' is not in Android Studio class path. Please ensure JAVA_HOME points to JDK rather than JRE.
I have no problem using Eclipse Juno (4.2.2) for Android development on this machine. Ran android-studio/bin/studio.sh at a terminal, there was a warning:
WARNING: You are launching the IDE using OpenJDK Java runtime. ITS KNOWN TO HAVE PERFORMANCE AND GRAPHICS ISSUES! SWITCH TO THE ORACLE(SUN) JDK BEFORE REPORTING PROBLEMS!
Downloaded and switched to Oracle (Sun) JDK from OpenJDK on Ubuntu 13.04 according to Hendré's blog, problem solved.

On Mac OS/X with Java 1.6.0_45, I got Android Studio ran immediately without hicup. After I made a new simple project to test, I could not load any Android Virtual Device. To work around, I opened Android Virtual Device Manager from Eclipse Juno to load the Android Application launched from Android Studio.

On Windows Vista with JRE 7 installed only, Nothing running after executed Android Studio (c:\android-studio\studio,exe) application. Tried to replaced Oracle JRE 7 with Oracle JDK 7, no luck. Solution: Added environment variable JAVA_HOME with value "C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_21) to system variables. Further reading:

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Install Android Development Tools on Ubuntu 12.10 (Quantal Quetzal)

  1. First thing first. Make sure Java Development Kit (JDK) install. Go to Terminal and type 'Java -version' to check. You should see the following:
    java version "1.7.0_07"
    OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea7 2.3.2) (7u7-2.3.2a-1ubuntu1)
    OpenJDK Server VM (build 23.2-b09, mixed mode)
  2. If Java Development Kit is not installed, you can install it from Ubuntu Software Center. Click on Ubuntu Software Center icon from left side bar and search for Java. Here, I selected 'OpenJava JDK 7 runtime'
  3. Go to http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/ to download Eclipse Classic 4.2.1 (Juno)
  4. Go to your downloads folder and extract it. Move 'eclipse' folder to your home directory.
  5. Launch Eclipse 4.2.1 (Juno) from 'eclipse' folder.
  6. Install Android Developer Tools (ADT) plugin for Eclipse. Click on Help -> Install New Software and add the URL 'https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/' on the input text box next to 'Work with' and click the 'Add' button.
  7. Download and install Android SDK from Eclipse 4.2.1. Click on Window -> Android SDK Manager. If Android SDK is not install, Eclipse will display a windows like this:



    Otherwise, select the existing Android SDK and specify location if it already installed. 
  8. Go to Windows -> AVD Manager to make at least one Android Virtual Device (AVD). Here is the screen shot for AVD using Galaxy Nexus skin.
References: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Java http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing/installing-adt.html

Sunday, September 16, 2012

How to restore the Package Explorer in Eclipse?

Click on Windows -> View -> Package Explorer to restore the Package Explorer view on Eclipse IDE.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Upgrade Eclipse IDE and Android SDK

Today, a new version of Eclipse IDE and Android released. Eclipse released Eclipse Juno 4.2. It has a special package for mobile developer. Google released Android 4.1 SDK, codename Jelly Bean. I'm going update my MacBook Pro with these new software.
  1. Downloaded Eclipse Juno 4.2 for Mobile Developers, 142 MB.
  2. Extracted it to Downloads folder.
  3. Removed existing Eclipse (Indigo) folder from Application.
  4. Moved new Eclipse folder from Downloads to Application
  5. Started Eclipse and re-install Android Development Tools (ADT)
  6. On Eclipse Juno 4.2 IDE, select Windows -> Android SDK Manager to update Android SDK Tools to rev. 20 and downloaded Android 4.1 Jelly Bean
  7. Create new AVD for Android 4.1 from AVD Manager
  8. Re-tested old projects to make sure they ran as expected.

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Upgrade to Eclipse Indigo (3.7) from Eclipse Helios (3.6) on Ubuntu 11.04

I'm using Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers to develop Android applications on Ubuntu Linux 11.04. The latest version Eclipse in Ubuntu Software Center is Galileo (3.5). To install or upgrade new version of Eclipse IDE:
1. Download 64-bit Linux package from Eclipse.org. Please select the approriate version for your machine: Mac OS, MS Windows, 32-bit, 64-bit.
2. Extract the downloaded zip file: eclipse-jee-indigo-linux-gtk-x86_64.tar.gz
3. Rename Eclipse folder in my home directory to Eclipse-Helios
4. Move the Eclipse folder from Downloads directory to home folder.
5. Re-install ADT Plugin for Eclipse Indigo (3.7)
6. After Eclipse restart, check, and enjoy new version Eclipse

How to Install Keka on macOS

Download latest version from https://www.keka.io/en/ Copy the MD5 hash value from Keka website to compare later (MD5: 8729f9d08d10293fa1ee65...