Showing posts with label privacy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label privacy. Show all posts

Saturday, October 12, 2013

How to opt out Google Shared Endorsements

Google updated their Terms of Service on Oct. 11, 2013. Your Profile name and photo might appear in Google products (including in reviews, advertising and other commercial contexts). If you don’t want your name and photo appear, you must opt out. To opt out Google Shared Endorsements:
  1. Visit this page https://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements?hl=en
  2. Uncheck the box next to Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads. 
  3. Click the Save button. 
  4. Click the Continue button on the next dialog.

    Friday, June 21, 2013

    Change Privacy Settings on Flickr

    Recently Flickr increased the capacity of free plan to 1 terabyte. It’s great. Flickr is one of the best photos hosting web site. However, you need to review and change its default settings.

    The default settings before change

    Only myself can access to original file


    Default settings for upload

    Change it to myself

    After the change of default upload.

    Saturday, November 5, 2011

    How to remove exif tag

    Each time we take a picture from a digital camera or smart phone, the exif tag and other photographic meta data are include in these pictures. These meta data contain info about your camera or your phone, GPS location,... To protects your privacy or reduce the picture size before publish the pictures on the web, you should remove exif data.

    On Ubuntu: Using GPS Correlate
    In the terminal:
    To show the exif tags: gpscorrelate -s *.jpg
    To remove the exif tag: gpscorrelate -r *.jpg

    On Windows: Using a free software called IrfanView

    Sunday, October 30, 2011

    How to completely disable Google Web History?

    Google Web History records your key search and web activity after you log in to Google Account. When you create a Google Account at http://www.google.com/accounts/NewAccount, you're given the option to enable Web History with your account. Visit Google Web History for more detail.

    Many people choose to NOT enable Web History for privacy reason. However, when you activate Google+ service, you may accident enable Web History. For more information, read "Think You’ve Disabled Google’s Web History Tracking? Check Again" posted at TechCrunch.

    To complete disable Google Web History, after login to Google Account, type this URL:
    https://www.google.com/accounts/DeleteService?service=hist
    (Source: Alex at Google Web Search Community)

    How to Install Keka on macOS

    Download latest version from https://www.keka.io/en/ Copy the MD5 hash value from Keka website to compare later (MD5: 8729f9d08d10293fa1ee65...